Charles F. Zirzow Memorial Student Award

About Charles F. Zirzow Memorial Student Award

The Zirzow Student Award is presented in honor of Charles F. Zirzow, one of the founding members of the NAEP, who passed away in 1997.  Navy Commander Zirzow was the Director of the U.S. Navy’s Natural Resources Management Branch when it was created and saw it through its development years.  Among his many accomplishments to the NAEP was the development of the Environmental Professional Certification Program, which was to become The Academy of Board Certified Environmental Professionals (ABCEP), built on the premise that environmental education and career development is a continuing and lifelong process.  The Zirzow Student Award was established in 2001 and is presented to a college student or recent graduate, who has been recognized by their department for their academic achievement.

The awardee will receive: 

  • Complimentary one-year NAEP Student Membership
  • Complimentary conference registration to accept the award
  • A cash award of $1,000.00
  • A congratulatory plaque
  • Recognition on the NAEP website 

Past Recipients

Year Name Institution
2022 Amber Orr Nova Southeastern University
2021 Jae Ramirez American Public University System
2020 Sharmily Rahman Florida Atlantic University
2019 Donald De Alwis University of Maryland
2018 Shannon Black University of Washington –Tacoma
2017 Samantha Kuzma Duke University
2016 Jennifer Thompson DePaul University
2015 Foster Ducker University of Hawaii
 2014 Kayla Ouelette  University of South Florida 
2012 Maren Fulton Portland State University
2011 Andrew Fillion Colorado State University
2010 Christopher Faulkner Georgia State Institute of Technology
2009 Shahrzad Badvipour Arizona State University 
2008 Kyle Harper University of California – San Diego
2007 Marissa Williams Rollins College
2006 Christian LeJeune University of New Mexico
2005 Jeff Streicher Geroge Mason University
2004 Pamela Sanguinetti Evergreen State College
2003 Greg Pillar Palo Alto College
2002 Sara Felker Michigan State University
2001 Christopher Quinn Towson State University