Co-Hosted by the Transportation Research Board's Committee on Environmental Analysis and Ecology

 

NAEP 2021 Schedule

Schedule-at-a-Glance

Please note, this schedule is subject to change. 

All times will be listed in Pacific Time and Eastern Time. If you need help converting the schedule to your time zone, try out World Time Buddy

Find Your Time Zone

NAEP Session Tracks

Explore the sessions in each track by clicking the icons below, or view all.


 


Day 1 | Monday, May 17

Session Information

8:30 – 9:00 AM (PT) | 11:30 – 12:00 PM (ET)

Opening Remarks with the NAEP President
NEPA Biology

9:00 – 1:00 PM (PT) | 12:00 – 4:00 PM (ET)

ESRI Planning Workshop
Speaker TBD

9:00 – 9:30 AM (PT) | 12:00 – 12:30 PM (ET)

Wildlife Protection Plan Helps Large Water Pipeline Project Move Forward
Jill Chomycia, PMP

9:30 – 10:00 AM (PT) | 12:30 – 1:00 PM (ET)

Ecological Restoration and Permitting of Small Dam Removals in Washington State
Becky Holloway, CEP & April McEwen

10:00 – 10:30 AM (PT) | 1:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)

Hazard Mitigation and Nature-Based Solutions
Taylor Nordstrom, PE

10:30 – 12:00 PM (PT) | 1:30 – 3:00 PM (ET)

Science Training: Supporting Careers in Environmental Science
Kelly Reiss

12:00 – 1:00 PM (PT) | 3:00 – 4:00 PM (ET)

Extended Break & Exhibit Hall Time

1:00 – 2:00 PM (PT) | 4:00 – 5:00 PM (ET)

Extended Break & Exhibit Hall Time

1:00 – 2:00 PM (PT) | 4:00 – 5:00 PM (ET)

Extended Break & Exhibit Hall Time

2:00 – 2:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 5:30 PM (ET)

Using Programmatic NEPA to Help Enable Future NASA Missions
Michelle Rau & Tina Norwood

2:00 – 2:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 5:30 PM (ET)

WEDG, A New Tool in Resilient Waterfront Design
Danielle Irwin, LEED AP, PWS

2:30 – 3:00 PM (PT) | 5:30 – 6:00 PM (ET)

NEPA by the Numbers
John Ruple & Heather Tanana

2:30 – 3:00 PM (PT) | 5:30 – 6:00 PM (ET)

Collaborative Assessment of Wild and Scenic Rivers
Joshua Theurer

3:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 6:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Proximate Cause in EAs and EISs Since the Deletion of the Word "Cumulative"
Owen Schmidt

3:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 6:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Assessing Environmental Impacts in the Context of Dynamic Baselines
Rajiv Prasad

6:15 – 7:15 PM (ET)

East Coast Happy Hour

5:00 – 6:00 PM (PT)

West Coast Happy Hour

 

 


Day 2 | Tuesday, May 18

Session Information

8:30 – 9:00 AM (PT) | 11:30 – 12:00 PM (ET)

Awards
NEPA

Planning & Permitting
Remediation

9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT) | 12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)

Your NEPA Assignment, Should You Choose to Accept It…
Manisha Patel, WSP

9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT) | 12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)

Connecticut New Haven-Hartford-Springfield High Speed Rail Program: Mitigating for Rare Flora and Fauna
Laurel Stegina, AICP, Amanda Saul, Marla Engel, & Robert Graham

9:00 – 9:30 AM (PT) | 12:00 – 12:30 PM (ET)

Oatland Island Pesticide Remediation Project
Leanne DeFoor & Brek Steele

9:30 – 10:00 AM (PT) | 12:30 – 1:00 PM (ET)

Treating 1,4-Dioxane with Activated Potassium Persulfate
Patrick Hicks & Brant Smith

10:00 – 10:30 AM (PT) | 1:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)

Isotopic Tracers as a Proxy to Assess Nitrogen Transformations in a Constructed Bioretention Cell: A Possible Metric to Assess Lids
Sean Ahearn

10:30 – 11:00 AM (PT) | 1:30 – 2:00 PM (ET)

Exhibit Hall Time

Transportation

Planning & Permitting

Environmental Justice

11:00 – 12:30 PM (PT) | 2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)

Resilience is the Future of Transportation Networks
T. Luke Young, Tatum Lau, & Kristin Davis

11:00 – 12:30 PM (PT) | 2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)

Application Of A Watershed Approach To Mitigate A Large-scale Highway Project
Kate Forester, PLA, Marke Ewbank, PE, Christina Merten, PE, PWS

11:00 – 11:30 AM (PT) | 2:00 – 2:30 PM (ET)

Ethics In Our Profession and Our Lives
Richard Burke, CEP

11:30 – 12:00 PM (PT) | 2:30 – 3:00 PM (ET)

Community Conversations:  Effective Community Outreach for Equitable Outcomes
Ron Deverman & Fatima Ghani

12:00 – 12:30 PM (PT) | 3:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)

Big Project, Big Impacts: Addressing Community Issues While Widening a Freeway in Houston 
Carlos Swonke

12:30 – 1:00 PM (PT) | 3:30 – 4:00 PM (ET)

Break & Exhibit Hall Time

1:00 – 2:00 PM (PT) | 4:00 – 5:00 PM (ET)

Keynote Presentation
Dawn Wright

NEPA

Planning & Permitting

Biology

2:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Leading NEPA in a Growing Network of Privately-Led Projects: A Case Study on High Speed Rail
Erin Lee, Kevin Wright, EIT, Travis Kelly, & Laynee Jones, PE

2:00 – 2:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 5:30 PM (ET)

Engaging the End User: Planning and Community Outreach in NYC's Largest Resiliency Project
Annie Winter, Nicolette Leung, PE, Eric Ilijevich, NYC DDC, Thu-Loan Dinh, NYC DDC, Kenny Mui, AKRF, & Bob White, AKRF

2:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Embracing Uncertainty: Adaptation Pathways from Concept to Practice
Claire Bonham-Carter, Dana Brechwald, Lisa Fisher, & Allan Kapoor

2:30 – 3:00 PM (PT) | 5:30 – 6:00 PM (ET)

Florida Assumes Control: Florida's Experience Assuming CWA Section 404 Permitting
Tim Perry

3:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 6:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Using Map Visualization to Streamline NEPA and Environmental Compliance Reviews
Jennifer Salerno

6:45 – 8:15 PM (ET)

East Coast Women in STEM Happy Hour

5:30 – 8:00 PM (PT)

West Coast Women in STEM Happy Hour



 


Day 3 | Wednesday, May 19

Session Information

8:30 – 9:00 AM (PT) | 11:30 – 12:00 PM (ET)

Awards

NEPA


Cultural

Public Involvement

9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT) | 12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)

Ramifications of New NEPA Regulations on Agencies and Consultants
Patrick Solomon, CEP & Erica Boulanger

9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT) | 12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)

Tribal Resources Impact Analysis: Intersection of the Natural and Cultural World
Jenny Bring & Regine Kennedy

9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT) | 12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)

Empowering Communities through Climate Change Engagement and Capacity Building
Jessica Sisco, AICP, Julio Garcia, Félix Aponte-Gonzalez, & Claire Bonham-Carter

10:30 – 11:00 AM (PT) | 1:30 – 2:00 PM (ET)

Exhibit Hall Time

11:00 – 12:30 PM (PT) | 2:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)

NEPA Studies for the I-495 and I-270 P3 Program: Lessons Learned During One Federal Decision and the COVID-19 Pandemic
Eric Almquist, AICP, PWS & Karen Kahl, PE, PTOE

11:00 – 11:30 PM (PT) | 2:00 – 2:30 PM (ET)

Uncovering History in the South Central Light Rail Project
Robert Forrest & Audrey Unger

11:00 – 11:30 PM (PT) | 2:00 – 2:30 PM (ET)

Use of VIP with Public Hearings
Carolyn Nelson

11:30 – 12:00 PM (PT) | 2:30 – 3:00 PM (ET)

Mapping a Methodology: Using GIS to Streamline Identification of Historically Significant Resources
Sebastian Renfield & Brian Matuk

11:30 – 12:00 PM (PT) | 2:30 – 3:00 PM (ET)

Geospatial Tools for Public Involvement: Improving Outreach and Fostering Citizen Scientists through Location
Mike Bialousz & Sunny Fleming

12:00 – 12:30 PM (PT) | 3:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)

Partnership Rubik's Cube: Building the Right Environmental Planning Team for Effective Engagement
Amanda Roberts, PMP, Nic Frederick, David Boyes, & Desiree Martinez

12:00 – 12:30 PM (PT) | 3:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)

Planning with Communities in Dynamic Environments—Using a Flexible and Adaptive Long-Term Floodplain Planning Approach for Pierce County’s Clear Creek Strategy Plan
Lynn Turner, Angela Angove, & Heather Page

12:30 – 1:00 PM (PT) | 3:30 – 4:00 PM (ET)

Break & Exhibit Hall Time

1:00 – 2:00 PM (PT) | 4:00 – 5:00 PM (ET)

Keynote Presentation
Jomar Maldonado 

Environmental Justice

Planning & Permitting

Biology

2:00 – 2:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 5:30 PM (ET)

Applying Environmental Justice Best Practices and Mitigations for NEPA Documents
Emily Gulick & Ben Goldsworthy

2:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

PEL In Practice
Jane Boand, Diane Nulton, Jason Longsdorf, & Troy Halouska

2:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Watershed Resilience: The Rebuild by Design - Living with the Bay Program
Jonathan Carey, AICP, ENV SP, LEED AP, Matt Accardi, & Derrick Rosenbach, AICP

2:30 – 3:00 PM (PT) | 5:30 – 6:00 PM (ET)

Environmental Justice (EJ) and Virtual Public Involvement
Carolyn Nelson

3:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 6:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Emerging Issues, Practices and Strategies
Brian Kennedy, AICP, Jennifer Kellar, Ashley Bush, & Kory Wilmot

6:15 – 7:15 PM (ET)

East Coast Speed Mentoring Happy Hour

5:00 – 6:00 PM (PT)

West Coast Speed Mentoring Happy Hour

 

 

 


Day 4 | Thursday, May 20

Session Information

8:30 – 9:00 AM (PT) | 11:30 – 12:00 PM (ET)

Membership Meeting

NEPA

9:00 – 10:30 AM (PT) | 12:00 – 1:30 PM (ET)

NEPA Case Law
P. Hudson, Michael Smith, & Fred Wagner, Esq.

10:30 – 12:00 PM (PT) | 1:30 – 3:00 PM (ET)

CEQ's Review of the 2020 Final Rule: Issues and Opportunities
Michael Drummond, Edward Boling, & Marie Campbell

12:00 – 12:30 PM (PT) | 3:00 – 3:30 PM (ET)

Break & Exhibit Hall Time

12:30 – 1:30 PM (PT) | 3:30 – 4:30 PM (ET)

Keynote Presentation
TRB

1:30 – 2:00 PM (PT) | 4:30 – 5:00 PM (ET)

Exhibit Hall Time 

NEPA

Transportation

2:00 – 2:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 5:30 PM (ET)

Agency Actions to Revise Their NEPA Procedures: A Progress Report
Charles Nicholson

2:00 – 2:30 PM (PT) | 5:00 – 5:30 PM (ET)

Caltrans Regional Advance Mitigation Needs Assessment (RAMNA); A New Approach to Planning for Transportation Project Mitigation
Michael Carbiener

2:30 – 3:00 PM (PT) | 5:30 – 6:00 PM (ET)

Reader-Friendly 2.0: Effective Environmental Documentation in an Era of Streamlining
Jenifer Young, Alan Summerville, Anne Broache, AICP, & David Mattern

2:30 – 3:00 PM (PT) | 5:30 – 6:00 PM (ET)

Section 4(f) Compliance for Non-Historic Resources and the I-270 Corridor Project
Veronica McCall

3:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 6:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Integrating Climate Change in NEPA Analysis
Michael Conrardy, Elizabeth Bella, Emily Newell, & Louise Kling

3:00 – 3:30 PM (PT) | 6:00 – 6:30 PM (ET)

Corridor K of the Appalachian Development Highway System: Fresh Perspectives on Environmental Stewardship and Project Delivery
Amy Sackaroff

6:15 – 7:15 PM (ET)

East Coast Happy Hour

5:00 – 6:00 PM (PT)

West Coast Happy Hour

Event Policies

Cancellation

All cancellations must be submitted to NAEP in writing. Cancellations received by March 15, 2021, will be refunded the conference registration fee in total less a $25 processing fee. Cancellations received between March 15 and April 12, 2021, will be refunded 50% of the total paid for the conference registration fee. Cancellations received after April 12, 2021, will receive no refund. With prior notification by April 12, 2021, you may substitute a different name for your registration.

To cancel, please email the NAEP office at [email protected].

Technical Failure

It is the responsibility of the attendee to confirm system requirements and test computers, speakers, microphones, and other required technologies prior to the start of the event. If technical failure occurs at the attendee's home or workplace and prevents the attendee from accessing the live event, the attendee will not be given a refund. In the instance of a technical failure due to the NAEP platform, the NAEP office will offer make-up sessions for the affected content. If a registrant cannot attend the make-up session, then a partial refund may be requested. If NAEP must cancel the event due to technical failure, full refunds will be provided to all registrants.

Code of Conduct

Please review NAEP's Code of Conduct

Failing to adhere to NAEP’s Code of Conduct will result in you being asked to leave the session and the rest of the NAEP 2021 Conference & Training Symposium.